Frequently Asked Questions

What is Tie Break Tens?

Tie Break Tens is a new, quick-fire version of tennis that anyone can play. Tie Break Tens is exciting – and a great way to enjoy a lot of tennis in a short amount of time. Unlike conventional tennis matches, the Tie Break Tens format consist solely of tie-breaks – no games, no sets, just exhilarating first-to-ten point clashes in which every point counts.

In Tie Break Tens’ international competitions, world-class players compete for life-changing, winner-takes-all prizes at prestigious venues around the globe. The huge prize money at stake, combined with the nail-biting suspense of the tie-break only format, creates a thrilling evening of tennis. Champions are crowned in a single three-hour session, with the winners taking home $250,000 in prize money.

There have been five Tie Break Tens tournaments to date – in London, Vienna, Madrid (2) & Melbourne. Details of future tournaments taking place in 2018 will be announced shortly.

Who competes in Tie Break Tens’ international tournaments?

Any player who has reached the ATP top ten – at any time – is eligible to be invited to compete in a Tie Break Tens international tournament. A host of stars have already taken part in Tie Break Tens including Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, John McEnroe, Stan Wawrinka, Goran Ivanisevic, Jo Wilfried Tsonga, Maria Sharapova and Johanna Konta. Forthcoming players include legendary sisters Serena and Venus Williams who are set to compete at Tie Break Tens New York in March 2018.

Tie Break Tens also considers Wild Card players chosen from a shortlist nominated by the governing tennis authority for the host country as well as winners from any pre-tournament qualifiers.

How do I buy tickets for Tie Break Tens tournaments?

Tickets for forthcoming Tie Break tournaments can be purchased via Ticketmaster. Tickets will go on sale once details for these tournaments have been announced. Each Tie Break Tens lasts three hours.

Can anyone hold a Tie Break Tens tournament?

Yes! The Tie Break Tens format is designed to appeal to tennis fans of all kinds and offers professional and recreational players alike the chance to compete in exciting tournaments in a short space of time. Tie Break Tens is ideal for players with busy schedules who don’t have time for lengthy three- to five-set matches.

How do you play a Tie Break Tens match?

Tie Break Tens follows traditional tennis rules, but there are no games or sets, just tie breaks. Each match comprises a first-to-ten-point tie break and tournaments can be run as round-robins or knockouts, singles or doubles. As in traditional tennis matches, whoever serves first only serves once. After this, the serves alternate every two points. Players change ends every six cumulative points. The tie-break winner must have a clear margin of two points e.g. 10-8, 31-11 etc.

How do I run my own Tie Break Tens tournament?

We recommend six to eight players but if you don’t have six players, you can play a round-robin with four or more. If there are just two of you, you can decide on how many rounds to play. If you have more than six players, then you can expand each stage out. Just remember: every point counts.

How long does a Tie Break Tens match last?

Each Tie Break Tens match usually takes around 10-15 minutes – but some tie breaks last a lot longer. (The longest tie-break in history lasted 70 points.) Each Tie Break Tens tournament last three hours with a total of seven matches: quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final. At some tournaments, both a Men’s tournament and Women’s tournament are held.

Where can I get hold of Tie Break Tens merchandise?

We have an online shop full of exciting Tie Break Tens branded products including hats and visors, T-shirts and other accessories.

When are Tie Break Tens Series of international tournaments?

The opening Tie Break Tens of the 2018 Series took place on January, 10 at the Margaret Court Arena in Melbourne. The second Tie Break Tens will take place at the world-famous Madison Square Gardens in New York on March 5.

Tie Break Tens has already staged five international tournaments to date in London, Vienna, Madrid (2) & Melbourne

London 2015

The inaugural Tie Break Tens was held in the Royal Albert Hall in London, in December 2015 with Andy Murray, David Ferrer, John McEnroe, Kyle Edmund, Tim Henman and Xavier Malisse competing in a round-robin format. Edmund defeated Murray in the final.

Vienna 2016

The second Tie Break Tens tournament was held in October 2016 at the Weiner Stadthalle in Vienna, Austria. The competitors were: Andy Murray, Dominic Thiem, Goran Ivanisevic, Jo Wilfried Tsonga, Marcus Willis and Tommy Haas. The winner was Dominic Thiem who beat Murray in the final.

Madrid, May 2017

The third Tie Break Tens tournament took place in Madrid in May 2017 in partnership with the Mutua Charity against domestic violence. For the first time, both men’s and women’s competitions took place and followed a knockout format. The contenders for the men’s title were: Tomas Berdych, Grigor Dimitrov, Dan Evans, Feliciano Lopez, Lucas Pouille, Jack Sock, Fernando Verdasco and Stan Wawrinka. Grigor Dimitrov beat Feliciano Lopez to win $250,000. The women’s tournament featured Garbine Muguruza, Maria Sharapova, Monica Puig, Simona Halep, Johanna Konta, Madison Keys, Agnieszka Radwanska and Svetlana Kuznetsova. Simona Halep beat Kuznetsova in the final to win $250,000. Both the Men’s champion and Women’s champion generously donated $50,000 each from their prize to the Mutua Charity.

Melbourne, January 2018

The fourth Tie Break Tens – and the first of 2018 – took place at the Margaret Court Arena in Melbourne on January 10, just before the start of the Australian Open. Tomas Berdych won the winner-take-all prize of $250,000 prize after a thrilling night of tennis which also involved top stars Dominic Thiem, Novak Djokovic, Lleyton Hewitt and Stan Wawrinka. Berdych, from the Czech Republic beat Nick Kyrgios and Milos Raonic en route to a gripping final against Rafa Nadal which he won 10-5.

How can I stay in the know about future Tie Break Tens tournaments?

You can register for updates via our website as well as on Facebook, Instagram, twitter, YouTube and Vimeo. Do check our News page for all the latest updates and announcements.

What’s been the longest tie-break in history?

In January 2013, at the $10,000 Men’s Futures tournament qualifications at Plantation, Florida, Benjamin Balleret and Guillaume Couillard had a 70-point tiebreak in the first set. The final score was 7–6(36–34), 6–1 to Balleret. Although the match was played without any chair umpire or line judges, the score has been verified by both the ITF and ATP. Both players were part of the Monaco Davis Cup team.









Register here to receive the latest updates from Tie Break Tens.

Sponsorship and press: